The AIBN Board
The AIBN Board

The AIBN Board is an advisory body, established to assist the Director in matters relating to the Institute’s governance, defined strategic goals, progress against goals, and levels of funding required to support ongoing operations and strategic initiatives. Members are high-calibre representatives with broad ranging experience and expertise in the university, industry, community and government sectors.

The Board has a broad ambit, including providing advice on funding opportunities, commercialisation paths, extension activities and growth strategies for the Institute on both a strategic and operational basis. It reviews progress of the Institute in the areas of research, internationalisation, commercialisation, governance and management. It is also charged with providing advice on matters such as raising the international profile of the Institute to maximise the benefits to Queensland and Australia generally, and with assisting to maintain the high visibility and reputation of AIBN in research, industry, government and public domains.

Dr Susan Pond | Prof Alan Rowan | Kathy Hirschfeld | Prof Chris Lowe | Prof Robyn Ward | Bob McCarthy AM

Dr Susan Pond AM, MD, DSc, FTSE
AIBN Board Chair

Dr Susan Pond is Adjunct Professor in the Dow Sustainability Program at the United States Study Centre at the University of Sydney. Her area of interest is the development of the advanced transportation biofuels industry, including the critical success factors required for commercially viable production at scale. Dr Pond has a strong scientific and commercial background, with executive positions in the biotechnology and pharmaceutical industry for 12 years, most recently as Chairman and Managing Director of Johnson & Johnson Research Pty Ltd. Following post-doctoral studies at the University of California San Francisco, Dr Pond joined the UCSF Faculty of the Department of Medicine for six years. Returning to Australia, Dr Pond was appointed as Associate Professor of Medicine at The University of Queensland and later to a Personal Chair. She has an extensive publication record and is an inventor on five patent families. Dr Pond has a Bachelor of Medicine and Surgery (Hons 1) from the University of Sydney, Doctor of Medicine from the University of New South Wales and Doctor of Science and Doctor of Medicine honoris causa degrees from UQ. Dr Pond’s board positions include the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation; Commercialisation Australia; the Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering as Vice-President; Biotron Ltd; and the Centenary Institute.

Dr Susuan Pond

Professor Alan Rowan BSc University of Liverpool, PhD University of Liverpool, FRSC

Professor Alan Rowan was appointed director of AIBN in 2015. He has performed his research at the interface of chemistry and biology with seminal and pioneering work on processive catalysis and functional self-assembly. In the last three years Professor Rowan’s group developed the first truly biomimetic hydrogel, which mimics precisely the mechanical behaviour of the natural fibrous materials. This work has received considerable attention since it is the first step to truly controlling cell behaviour. This scientific breakthrough is already now being developed commercial for wound dressing, drug therapeutic and cell growth. Professor Rowan has published nearly 300 hundred peer-reviewed articles and books which were cited 12,000 times.

Professor Alan Rowan

Kathy Hirschfeld

Kathy Hirschfeld is a non-executive director of InterOil Corp, Transfield Services Limited, and Toxfree Solutions; and a Senator of The University of Queensland. She is on the board of UN Women in Australia.   A chemical engineer, Ms Hirschfeld’s 20-year career with BP included oil refining, logistics and exploration, located in Australia, the UK and Turkey.   Her last executive role was as Managing Director of BP Bulwer Island Refinery in Brisbane, with responsibility for all aspects of the business.
Kathy was recognised by Engineers Australia in 2014 as an Honorary Fellow – the 9th woman to be so honoured. She is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering and the Institution of Chemical Engineers (UK) and a member of Chief Executive Women.  

Kathy Hirschfeld

Professor Chris Lowe OBE, FREng,FInstP, FRSC.

Professor Christopher R. Lowe is in the Institute of Biotechnology at the Department of Chemical Engineering & Biotechnology at the University of Cambridge and researches in both diagnostics and therapeutics in the healthcare biotechnology sector. He is a fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Physics and the Royal Society of Chemistry. He has 380 peer-reviewed publications, 8 books and monographs, >100 patents and has supervised >95 PhD students and has a number of national and international prizes: “Queen’s Award for Technological Achievement”; “Queen’s Anniversary Prize for Higher and Further Education”; “Most Entrepreneurial Scientist of the UK”; OBE in the Queen’s New Year Honours; BBSRC Commercial Innovator of the Year in 2011. He has been the driving force for the establishment of 11 spin-out companies and fosters entrepreneurship within the University. He is active in various government committees and in a number of legal and entrepreneurial roles.

Professor Chris Lowe

Professor Robyn Ward, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) AM MBBS (Hons 1) UNSW, PhD UNSW, FRACP, FAHMS

Prof Robyn Ward has recently joined the University of Queensland as Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research), after many years of work within hospital and academic settings in New South Wales, including roles as Director of the Prince of Wales Cancer Centre and Clinical Associate Dean at UNSW. She remains Director of the Translational Cancer Research Network, a multi-institutional group based in NSW and supported by the Cancer Institute NSW, while for the Commonwealth, she chairs the Medical Services Advisory Committee and is a long standing member of the Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee. Professor Ward is also the chair of the NHMRC’s Human Genetics Advisory Council and Member of the NHMRC council.

Robyn Ward

Bob McCarthy AM

Bob McCarthy has spent the past 30 years in senior positions in both the public and private sectors. He has been Director General of several Queensland Government departments, including the Department of Natural Resources and Mines and the Department of State Development and Innovation. He has been at the forefront of efforts to diversify the Queensland economy and develop new industries, based on science and innovation. In July 2009, Mr McCarthy joined the University of Queensland as Adjunct Professor in the Australian Institute for Bioengineering and Nanotechnology. He is a key person in progressing UQ's research efforts in biofuels technology and has an important role in expanding UQ efforts to include major international companies such as Boeing and GE.

Bob McCarthy

On this site