AIBN Dr Liang Zhou receiving his FREA from UQ’s Vice-Chancellor and President Professor Peter Høj (left) and Australia’s chief scientist, Professor Ian Chubb (right)
AIBN Dr Liang Zhou receiving his FREA from UQ’s Vice-Chancellor and President Professor Peter Høj (left) and Australia’s chief scientist, Professor Ian Chubb (right)

Australian Institute for Bioengineering and Nanotechnology (AIBN) research into enhanced battery life for devices such as mobile phones, cameras and laptop computers has been awarded by The University of Queensland (UQ).

Dr Liang Zhou has won a UQ Foundation Research Excellence Award (FREA) and will use $99,761 for his research into functional nanomaterials for lithium ion batteries.

"The development of high-energy lithium ion batteries is an ongoing challenge,” Dr Zhou from AIBN Professor Chengzhong (Michael) Yu’s group explained.

“Transition metal oxides represent an important family of high-capacity anode materials for lithium ion batteries, holding great promise for replacing conventional graphite based anode materials."

“However, their practical application has been significantly hampered by the large volume change during charge and discharge.”

“My project aims to address the volume change issue and advance the implementation of transition metal oxide based high-capacity anode materials in next-generation lithium ion batteries."

Seven researchers and two research supervisors from across UQ were honoured at an excellence awards ceremony this week.

UQ FREA and the Awards for Excellence in Research Higher Degree Supervision are presented annually, as a highlight of UQ’s Research Week.

The UQ researchers collectively received more than $620,000 to allow them to further their research endeavours.

UQ’s acting Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research), Professor Anton Middelberg, welcomed Australia’s chief scientist, Professor Ian Chubb, as guest speaker at the awards ceremony.

UQ Foundation Research Excellence Awards – now in their 16th year – recognise demonstrated excellence and the promise of future success in research for UQ’s early to mid-career researchers.

Watch a one-minute video on Dr Zhou’s research here.

Media contact: Ruth Neale, 07 3346 3965,

AIBN: UQ Foundation Research Excellence Awards winners

2014: Dr Liang Zhou ($99,761): An integrated solution to transition metal oxide-based high-capacity anode materials for lithium-ion batteries

2013: Dr Claudia Vickers ($80,000): From a petrochemical to a biochemical economy

2012: Dr Da-Wei Wang ($78,000): Polymer nanocomposite solid electrolytes for high energy lithium batteries

2011: Dr Jian Liu ($80,000): Design of Nanostructured Porous Carbon as Electrode Materials for Supercapacitor Devices

2010: Dr Chenghua Sun ($70,000): Metal-Free Photocatalysts for Solar-Hydrogen Production Under Visible Light  

2010: Dr Kristofer Thurecht ($90,000): Hyperbranched Polymer: siRNA Conjugates: Advanced Polymeric Carriers for Cancer Therapy

2009: Dr Zhiping Xu ($75,000): Nanofabrication of layered double hydroxide nanoparticles with silica for targeting delivery

2008: Dr Shizhang Qiao ($80,000): Magnetic Mesoporous Core-Shell Structured Materials for Bioseparation

2008: Dr Lianzhou Wang ($75,000): Development of Novel Sunlight-Driven Photocatalysts for Efficient Wastewater Purification (School of Engineering)

2004: Professor Michael Monteiro ($75,000): Next Generation Nanostructures

1999 (Inaugural Year): Professor Max Lu, Department of Chemical Engineering: Synthesis and structure tailoring of nanoporous metal oxides as superior oxidation catalysts

1999 (Inaugural Year): Professor Matt Trau, Department of Chemistry: Biomaterials and Nanotechnology Research Initiative


On this site

Go to top